Frequently Asked Questions About Personal Injury Protection Insurance in Florida
How does personal injury protection work?
A patient will not be covered for their care with personal injury protection insurance unless they receive treatment within 14 days of their accident. A visit to your chiropractor, emergency medical services immediately after the accident, visits to the hospital or a walk-in clinic or receiving emergency roadside treatment may all qualify as receiving treatment within 14 days after the accident under Florida Statutes 627.736(1)(a)1. People will qualify for coverage through their own automobile policies. If an injured person does not have a car, he or she will still be covered under a blood relative's policy with whom the person lives if the relative owns a car.
Does your chiropractic visit count as the required initial care?
Under the statute, a visit to a doctor of chiropractic, medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, dentist, emergency medical personnel, hospital or walk-in clinic will qualify as the initial care within the first 14 days. Your chiropractor may also supervise your subsequent services and care after the initial visit.
How much is covered with PIP?
Personal injury protection in Florida is limited to $2,500 if you receive initial care within 14 days of your accident and do not have an emergency medical condition. When there is an emergency medical condition that is identified by your chiropractor, your PIP coverage will cover up to $10,000 of your medical expenses.
What is an emergency medical condition?
Under Florida Statutes 395.002(8), an emergency medical condition is one that causes a serious dysfunction to a part of your body or to an organ, causes a severe impairment to your ability to function or seriously jeopardizes your health. Your chiropractor will perform a medical examination to determine whether or not your injury qualifies as an emergency medical condition for coverage purposes.
What happens if you exhaust your PIP benefits?
If you exhaust your PIP benefits, your costs may still be covered if the other driver in your accident has a bodily injury liability policy. You'll want to check with your personal injury lawyer to learn more about whether or not that may be available to you.
When you are injured in a motor vehicle accident in Florida, PIP insurance can protect you by paying for your medical care costs. It is vital for you to see your chiropractor at South Florida Injury Centers immediately after your accident. If you wait too long, you may not recover benefits under your PIP policy. Fill out contact form below or call us today.
Frequently asked questions about personal injury protection insurance in Florida
Florida residents are required by the state's no-fault accident law to carry personal injury protection coverage. This coverage is included in your motor vehicle insurance and pays for your treatment in the event that you are injured. It is important for you to understand that you must seek medical care for your injuries within 14 days of their occurrence, or you will lose your rights to have them covered by your PIP policy completely. Even if you do not initially think that you are injured, it is vital to see your chiropractor at South Florida Injury Centers for an examination immediately after your accident so that you can have coverage if you were injured. Here are some of the most common questions that people have about PIP insurance in Florida.